roasted potatoes and spanish sauce

one potato, two patatas bravas

roasted potatoes and spanish sauce

I absolutely love roasted potatoes.  What is simpler than, quartering some small potatoes, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and fresh pepper, then throwing them in the oven.  After about 45 mintues the outside is crisp and golden and the inside is soft and creamy.  To me – that’s close to perfection.

Sunday night, I decided to do just that to serve with my crab cakes and benton’s bacon brussel sprouts. Whole foods packages bags of small yukon gold, red potatoes and purple potatoes, that are perfect for roasting.

To complement the potatoes, I took some inspiration from Spain.  While there, we ordered patatas bravas a lot.  Spanish patatas are potatoes cut into chunks like these, but fried instead of roasted.  More times than not, they are served with a dipping sauce made with tomatoes and allioli.  Well, I translate that into ketchup and mayonnaise. Of course I should have been traditional, but sometimes a girl is just hungry and wants to eat. :)

For the sauce I just mixed together two parts ketchup, one part mayo, a dash of Worcestershire sauce and salt and pepper.  Try this with your next serving of french fries too.  You won’t be disappointed.

4 thoughts on “one potato, two patatas bravas

  1. I’ve had ketchup and mayonnaise (in Spain!) as a substitute for alioli/aioli and tomatoes before… I did a homestay once in high school, and one night my 17-year-old Spanish host sister was in charge of making dinner for the two of us. She heated up a giant bag of frozen French fries, added literally a cup of ketchup and a cup of mayonnaise, and stirred. (Needless to say, your papas bravas look MUCH better! : )

  2. At this time it looks like WordPress is the preferred blogging platform available right now.

    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using
    on your blog?

  3. Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written any
    better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept preaching about this. I am going to send this article
    to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a very good
    read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

