food blog south 2013 – a recap

Food Blog South 2013

Surprising Amanda Fact: I don’t really mingle.  Frankly, I really hate it.  On the Myers-Briggs test, I test in squarely in the introvert section.  So going to a conference all alone where mingling is expected is a quite daunting proposition.

Many months back, I signed up to go to Food Blog South 2013 in Birmingham, Ala.  I was excited at first, but the closer to Saturday I got the more unsure I became.  But on Friday, I put on my big girl pants and drove down to Birmingham.

Thankfully fate brought me a lovely present.  Sitting alone near the back of the main ballroom, I looked to the side and saw my friend, Elise.  She was at the event for work, and neither of us knew the other would be there.  Hazzah – I had a buddy!

Knowing that I wouldn’t have to eat alone lunch, I relaxed and settled into a day of speakers talking my favorite subject. :)

I bookended my day with two of my favorite bloggers – Adam from the Amateur Gourmet and Kenji the Chief Creative Officer for Serious Eats.  While I won’t bore you all with the details of each session – You’ll have to pay your own way for that.  I will say how inspiring it was to meet so many people who have the same passion as I do.

The folks at Food Blog South put on a great day – very organized, very professional.  This conference was a blast.  While I didn’t go out of my way to mix and mingle like I probably needed to, I was able to meet several people and hand out a few business cards.  I hope that when I return next year, I’ll feel a little more confident with this fledgling food blog.

3 thoughts on “food blog south 2013 – a recap

  1. Ha, Amanda I laughed out loud when reading “Surprising Amanda Fact: I don’t really mingle. Frankly, I really hate it.” I’m the exact same way!

    Just not good at small talk, but I do enjoy pleasant conversation. Anyway, I enjoyed chatting with you briefly. Looking forward to keeping in touch :)

    1. So great to meet and chat with you too! Glad to know there are others out there with a mingle-phobia. :)

      Can’t wait to keep posted on your blog’s branding.

  2. Amanda, I really wanted to go and I’d been one you knew for sure! It didn’t work out for me, but I hope next year I get to! Did they talk any about the telephone recipe contest? I was in that and hope to get a copy of the cookbook for charity it was for! Glad you ran into someone and got acquainted with others plus had a good time!

Leave a Reply

